Council teaches teens about non-profits, grants process

Each year, the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana hosts a group of dedicated teens who learn about non-profits and charities in Clark and Floyd counties. This group is called the Youth Philanthropy Council.

High school students are nominated for membership on the YPC during the spring and begin participation in the fall. Students attend workshops to help educate and engage them in the world of philanthropy, followed by a grant cycle in which non-profit organizations apply for grants and recipients are selected by members of the YPC.

Work during the grant cycle includes reading grant applications, making in-person visits to non-profits as needed, and awarding grants at an event in the spring. The youth also coordinate and carry out a service project in the fall.

The youth work with mentors who teach them about the grant-making process. The YPC is designed to involve young people in meaningful ways, to encourage them to give and serve in their communities and to make philanthropy a habit for future generations.

This year’s YPC members are:
Floyd Central High School: Adaline Heitz, Emily Kunkel, Parker McCullough, Alyssa Moore, Cailie Paredo, Regan Platt
Jeffersonville High School: Jiffy Bishop, Davis Elliott, Emilee Flispart, Jessica McCormick, Shelby Moore, Morgan Reilly, Jack Reilly
New Albany High School: Emily Hoffer, Savannah Hunter, Temple Ricke
Providence Junior-Senior High School: Jenna Gilley, Sara Gryboski, Jacqueline Hornung
Silver Creek High School: Julia Gillenwater, Stephen Neal, Mitch Traylor


Related posts